Banks in Liechtenstein
+ 423 236 08 08
Marktgass 20, Postfach 1533 FL-9490, Vaduz Principality
+ 423 239 35 35
Austrasse 46, 9490, Vaduz Fürstentum
+ 423 265 56 56
Schaaner Strasse 27, 9487, Gamprin-Bendern Fürstentum
+ 423 235 66 55
Aeulestrasse 6, 9490, Vaduz

Country information

The territory of Liechtenstein since 15 BC has been the part of the Roman province of Greece. The Franks invaded the country in the year 536. Later, when Charles the Great, from the post of Governor was deposed Bishop and secular rulers began to appoint the post. The area was under the rule of the Carolingians to 911, when the German Empire collapsed in large and small Duchies. Within the Duchy of Swabia in the territory of Liechtenstein there were feudal lands of Schellenberg and Vaduz, which later became the part of the Holy Roman Empire. In 1507 Emperor Maximilian gave Vaduz special rights and privileges, including sovereignty and the collection of taxes. These rights were transferred to the Austrian family of Lichtenstein. The Lichtenstein family really wanted to get a seat in the Reichstag of the Holy Roman Empire. To do this he had to own land, suzerain, which would have been the Emperor himself (unmittelbar). For this Hans-Adam I bought from impoverished owners of Hohenems two tiny fief on the border with Switzerland Schellenberg (1699) and Vaduz (1712). These lands had the necessary legal status. Thanks to the assistance of Eugene of Savoy (who was the Prince of Liechtenstein law) in 1719 the Emperor recognized the head of the family, Anton Florian, Prince of sovereign dignity. Thus, there is the Principality of Liechtenstein. From 1815 to 1866 Liechtenstein was the part of the German Confederation, and in 1860 the Lichtenstein became the hereditary members of the upper chamber of the Austrian Parliament, and in 1866, when Johann II of Liechtenstein (1840-1929), the Principality became independent. After the First world war Liechtenstein terminated the contract with Austria and shifted to Switzerland: in 1921, an agreement was signed on trade and the postal service, in 1924, concluded a customs Union. Since then, the currency of Liechtenstein is the Swiss franc. Since 1919 Switzerland presents the diplomatic and consular interests of Liechtenstein abroad. During the Second world war, the Principality was neutral. In 1990, Liechtenstein joined the UN in 1991, the European free trade Association, in 2011 - the Schengen area.

National currency
(LI, phone code +423)

Advice #243
How to register a company in Ireland?
Advice #233
How to register a company in Portugal?
Advice #175
How to register a company in Finland?
All advices
Dmitriy Selivanov

Kreditech Russia CEO

Polina Filatova

LondonfoRus general manager

United Kingdom 
Eugenia Komleva Chief Editor

All experts

Virtual Affairs: the bank of the future has no borders - it's where its clients are

Read now